After a heroic and hard-fought year of rugby, the Montreal Wanderers RFC reflected on their efforts at the Annual Awards Banquet, held at Bier Markt.

The Annual Awards Banquet, an age-old Wanderer tradition, brings together club members and their loved ones to celebrate the end of each rugby season. With over 15 awards being handed out over the course of the night, and both our Men’s and Women’s squads in attendance, over 100 people turned up to the Bier Markt for a 3-course meal and a momentous awards ceremony. This year’s turnout dwarfs previous years, a real sign of club and membership growth.

If you missed an award, or couldn’t make it to the Banquet, here’s a list of those awarded on the night in order.


 Award  2016 Winner
 Most Valuable Club Member (MVCP)  Oliver Pearce
 Marty Phelan Award (Dirt Bag Award)  Tom Lawson
 2nds Team Men’s Most Improved Player (MIP)  Craig Bowler
 2nds Team Men’s Most Valuable Player (MVP)  Tommy Markopoulos
Men’s Rookie of the Year  Alex Elali
 Top Try Scorer of the Year  Freddy Kacou
 Women’s Most Improved Player (MIP) Olivia Dawe
 Women’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) Chloe Dunwoody
 Women’s Rookie of the Year  Haley Scott
  1st Team Men’s Most Improved Player (MIP) Rémi De Marassé
  1st Team Men’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) Jonathan Dextras-Romagnino